Twitter used to be entertaining. It’s now just draining. The ubiquitous social media platform, which has been around for more than a decade, has been in chaos since Elon Musk’s $44 billion takeover of Twitter was finalised on Oct. 27, 2022. Advertisers and users are both leaving.
Perhaps you’ve also decided to delete your account. Deleting a Twitter account is simple; making the decision requires some thought.
Twitter requires you to deactivate your account before you can delete it. Deactivating your Twitter account effectively suspends it for 30 or 120 days. If you do nothing during that time, Twitter will forever delete your account. Follow the steps below if you’re ready to pull the trigger and get off one of the most volatile social media platforms right now:
Access Your Account Settings
- Visit Twitter.
- On the left-hand rail, click the “More” button.
- “Settings and Support” will appear.
- Select “Privacy and settings.”
- Select “Your account.”
Deactivate Your Account
This is the step in which you can deactivate your account. Removing your account accomplishes several tasks. Your display name, @username, and public profile will no longer be visible on Twitter, but you can reactivate your account for 30 days or 12 months. This allows you to reactivate your Twitter account after it has been deactivated for up to 30 days or 12 months.
Choose between 30 days and 12 months.
Click the “Deactivate” button.
After reviewing the account deactivation information, click “Deactivate.”
Log in Later or Surrender Your Username
Twitter will ask you to confirm your password after you click deactivate. After entering your password, you must confirm your decision to deactivate by clicking the “Deactivate” button.
If you do not log back into your account within 30 days or 12 months, your account will be permanently deleted. When you delete it, all of your information is erased, and your username is made available for reuse by someone else. This is critical. Musk is considering changes to Twitter verification, so safeguarding specific usernames, particularly those that are proprietary, may become important in the future.
Now That’s Helpful
Before deactivating their accounts, users can download an archive of their data. Before you disable your account, simply click the “Download an archive of your data” link. Twitter will request your password once more. Twitter will send all of your data — account history, apps and devices, account activity, interests, and Ads data — via available for download ZIP file once you provide it.
For more business and tech posts visit techfinaly.com
Leave a Reply